A gluten-free diet excludes any foods that contain gluten. It is a protein naturally found in wheat and several other grains. It can also be added to foods during processing for better texture and taste.
Gluten is generally used as a binding agent and for flavoring, so you can find it in most foods. For instance, everything from soy sauce and ice cream to certain medications, beauty products, and dietary supplements, all have gluten.
A person suffering from celiac disease has to adopt a gluten-free diet inevitably. Another condition that may prompt someone to cut gluten from their diets is gluten sensitivity or gluten intolerance. The consumption of gluten for such people may result in gastrointestinal irritation, skin reaction, headache, etc.
People who are allergic to wheat should also avoid certain foods containing gluten. Wheat triggers an immune response in their bodies, which can cause symptoms such as a skin rash, headache,e or sneezing. However, such people can still eat gluten in other grains, including barley and rye.
Besides eliminating all major grains, people on the gluten-free diet can eat any natural gluten-free foods such as:
- fruit and vegetables
There are plenty of both alcoholic and soft drinks which don’t contain gluten:
- fruit juice flavored water
- fizzy drinks
Some other dietary changes accompanying a gluten-free diet are:
- Check for warnings on packages. Many products that don’t contain gluten may have been processed in a facility where gluten products are manufactured.
- Keep kitchen utensils, dishes,s and other food prep items that are used for gluten-containing foods separate. This will reduce the risk of cross-contamination.
- Read ingredient labels carefully to check for any traces of wheat. Some artificial colors and seasonings also contain gluten.
- Substitute wheat with oat, buckwheat, quinoa, or other gluten-free or alternative grain flours for cooking and baking.
Hence, gluten allergy can be managed well if a proper diet and precautions are maintained. While cooking gluten-free food at home takes time and effort, you can get it from an online marketplace. To get ready-to-eat/bake gluten-free products, check out GlutenFreeCart.
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.